Month: November 2011

Alternative English Testing to IELTS Accepted

Certain student visas require applicants to demonstrate a certain level of English language ability. Prior to 5 November 2011, only the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) test was the only test accepted by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) as proof of English language ability.

On 3 November 2011, the new legislative instrument regarding alternative English language testing came into effect. This allows for alternative English language proficiency tests to the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) test to be accepted in certain situations.

According to the instrument, the following English language proficiency tests may be considered an alternative to the IELTS test:

  1. the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) Paper-Based test;
  2. the TOEFL Internet-Based test (also known as TOEFL iBT);
  3. the Cambridge English: Advanced (CAE) test (also known as Certificate in Advanced English);
  4. the Pearson Test of English Academic; and
  5. the Occupational English Test.

Specifications apply to each test which are set out in legislative instrument number IMMI 11/070 signed on 3 November 2011.

Should you require advice regarding student visa arrangements, please contact us for further information.

This is general information only and does not constitute legal advice.


The information on this website is intended only to provide a summary and general overview on relevant matters. It is not intended to be comprehensive nor does it constitute legal advice. You are advised to seek legal or other professional advice before acting or relying on any of the content contained in this website.